Demeter

Demeter_Ceres_Greek_Goddess_Art_03Imagine this: the maiden goddess playing in a flowery meadow, together with the full-bodied daughters of the ocean. They were gathering flowers: just-open roses, crocuses, and dark violets from the soft grass,
and lilies and hyacinths.

And then they saw a new flower, voluptuous and fragrant.

It was narcissus, that wonder, sending forth a hundred blooms from a single bulb, making the very earth laugh with delight at its heady fragrance–the earth, and the blue sky also, and the ocean water, all amazed and laughing at this new creature, this marvel of a flower,                                                                   which the goddess reached out her hand to pick.
–Homeric hymn to Demeter

 

If we study the hymns, poems, and art of the goddess she will tell us the best ways to commune with her. From this hymn we learn that Demeter is not just a “mother” goddess but also a “maiden” goddess. We can infer that the daughters of the ocean are “the earth, and the blue sky also, and the ocean water”. Although these may be separate entities. Flowers associated to this goddess are roses, crocuses, dark violets, lilies, hyacinths, and narcissus.

In addition to The Goddess Companion, we are also reading The Goddess Path also by Patricia Monaghan. In it she addresses the idea of “Mother, Maiden, Crone” aspects of the Goddess stating that this concept may leave out a crucial aspect of goddess many of us look for in our search for goddess; the lover goddess. Goddesses like Aphrodite and Hathor do not readily fit in to the aspects of maiden, mother, crone. At least not in the concepts that many know these labels. How I see it is that the maiden goddess aspect is most often seen as a virgin, innocent in matters of physical love. But I do not agree with this idea. I see the maiden goddess as unmarried but not sexually innocent. She knows love. Yet there are maidens that have no interest in romantic love. They are independent and self-reliant. So, maybe there is a need for an additional aspect. Adding the new aspect of lover goddess, the maiden aspect is divided, the remaining aspect being that of daughter. This makes a great deal of sense to me. However, I am dedicated to Brigid. She is known as a triple goddess (earth, sky, and sea or the three realms of Celtic tradition). My understanding of Brigid makes her all of the aspects of goddess. She is daughter of the Dagda. She is lover of Bress. She is mother of Ruadan. She is a queen (wise woman) of the Tautha de Danann. My experience with goddess is limited. I see I have learning to do by working with goddesses that do not fit in to this all-encompassing aspect. But I wonder if all goddesses do not fit. since Demeter too seems to fit.  Will I find that all goddesses are all-encompassing. Or will I find that only few goddesses are triple aspect.

The days grow closer that I must choose a goddess I have never worked with before to dedicate to (work with) for a year. Gathering the list has been difficult. Brigid reminds me of my dedication to her. Although she has agreed to allow me work with a goddess of her choosing for the purpose of spiritual growth. I agreed to mark myself with a permanent reminder of my dedication to Brigid. So below is my new tattoo. I felt barely any pain during the four hours in the artist’s chair. I spent most of the time dancing with Brigid around the room. I hope you have enjoyed my post today. Blessed Be.

tat000001111

And by the way! We are having a May Day Festival in the Memphis, TN area. If you are down this way come celebrate with us. Check out the link to see our event page on Facebook.

About Rowanolis

Solitary pagan newly accepted into an initiates study of witchcraft.
This entry was posted in Paganism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment